Drug Rep Time

How to succeed in Pharmaceutical Sales.

Dig it from them.

I would like to suggest a very powerful exercise that will open your eyes on what you need to do to increase your sales. It’s very simple. Take one week to do it and by the end of the week you will discover things about your product that even your company doesn’t know. Here is what you need to do. Each of your products has a core message or USP (unique selling proposition). Your companies provide you with them. It shouldn’t be longer than one or two sentences. I want you to force yourself and say it every time you interact with your doctors this week. Just open your mouth and say it. Right after that you will need to look him right in the eye and ask: ” Is this how you think about my product?” Notice , you are not asking them what they think about your product. In your everyday routine most of you do just that. Conversely, you are asking them if their opinion about your product matches your USP. If you do it the right way, you will get tons of precious information out of that: opinions, doubts, skepticism, different views. Most importantly you will learn if they are bonded with your core message. Dig it from them. If you think you know what they think you are wrong! Assume nothing-ASK.

Let me know if this exercise worked for you.

January 27, 2008 - Posted by | Marketing and Sales strategies, Your brand message | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I tried this with 4 of my busy docs. Results were amazing. 3 of them had no idea about our usp. And that’s after my calling on them for 2 years. I thought it was said many times, but apparently they never heard it. Or never paid attention. This leaves me with a question: what should I do?
    Thanks doc.

    Comment by No name | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. No name, I am glad you found it useful.
    You are half way there and way ahead of the game because most reps would even try to do what your did.Don’t ask me why. Anyway, you can try to go back to your company and ask them how to bond your USP/core message with your doctors. My experience however is that a lot of companies and their marketing and branding team have NO CLUE what they are doing in this area. It sound brutal but it’s the case. Maybe your company is different, I hope it is. I suggest you read all the posts under the category Your Brand Message. I will also continue talking on this blog about this topic. It fascinates me. Thank you.

    Comment by Doctor Max | January 31, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

