Drug Rep Time

How to succeed in Pharmaceutical Sales.

Get ready for Monday on Sunday. Debates…

“Barbie dolls” vs “No-dolls” reps
Please read the comments from Barbie, Ken, and two doctors. Share your thoughts.
What do you do about “no see” docs.
Read the post below from Cafe Pharma. How do you get through the barriers? Give us your suggestions or share your experiences. Let’s get to work.
Debates about food. Wow! Read the comments under the post “Give us one tip that works for you”. What do you do?

December 9, 2007 - Posted by | Debates | ,

6 Comments »

  1. Anonymous said…
    Barbie better have brains, because once she gets in front of the HCP it will all come through.

    November 18, 2007 10:36 PM

    Comment by Anonymous | December 9, 2007 | Reply

  2. Anonymous said…
    As a “Barbie Doll”, I face both types of reactions. Honestly, female doctors aren’t that warm to me but I usually win them over in time. Same with front office staff. Most male doctors are very accepting of me, although it drives me nuts when they make comments on my looks. One office calls me “Marilyn”. I’ve had to prove I’m not an idiot. Then there is the 1% of doctors who have been straight up dicks. One doctor invited back my counterpart, who is a male, and said, with me stand there, that he “does not talk to the blonde, big-boobed former cheerleaders that drug companies recruit to use sex appeal to sell drugs. I’m glad (my company) wised up and hired a guy.” He then slammed the door in my face.

    Bottom line, I have had to prove myself as a valuable source of knowledge for my docs, just like every other rep out there. I don’t date my doctors and I command respect by acting professional….blonde and big boobs and all.

    December 8, 2007 10:33 PM

    Comment by Anonymous | December 9, 2007 | Reply

  3. First things first, I’d like to meet the blonde hair, big boob cheerleader.

    Secondly, as a Ken doll (I assume this would be the terminalogy to use) I guess it can be a blessing and a curse. I definitely can flirt my way past the staff where females will have trouble. It’s a shame I don’t have more female doctors so I can do what the female reps do.

    Some docs like to hear about my social life and like to live vicariously through me. Some have the “Revenge of the Nerds” syndrome where because they are the doctor; they think they’re higher up on the totem pole and act like pricks

    However, I need to be on top of my game either way because once you lose credibility; you’re done.

    Comment by Anonymous | December 10, 2007 | Reply

  4. As a Doc (male) – I have to say – sex appeal works, no matter what…for about 5 seconds. If you have nothing to add to it – I would put you on “just get my signature and get out of here” – list. You are just an inappropriate distraction. If you are respecting my personal space, if you have “it is not my fault I was born Barbie” attitude and you bring value to my practice – you are on the top of my list; if in addition you have brains and can support a conversation beyond sales aids…well, I am almost feel like I am getting myself in trouble here ūüôā
    Having out of ordinary good looks, the same as having out of ordinary good brains, can be your asset or your liability, depending on how and where you are using it. But, if you got it, it would be a waste not to use it. Remember, you got this 5 seconds head start, at least with me ūüôā
    And no excuse for a doctor to be a dickhead… I feel sad for my profession.
    Dr. V

    Comment by Dr. V | December 10, 2007 | Reply

  5. I think ultimately the reason I want to see a rep is for more information about a product. Period. Barbie thing will work to an extent.. she gets maybe a second glance.. then I remember I am a client, not a friend. At that point its how professionally do you represent this product. No brains = no writing for the med.
    I think the best reps are wives of my colleagues. They don’t have to be barbies. I’m going to listen.. I’m going to be cordial, and I’m going to respect them as I respect a colleague. The cheerleader/barbie approach hasn’t impressed me much though…
    There is no excuse for treating a rep poorly.. always be respectful.. no matter how many patients we have to see

    Comment by Anonymous | December 11, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi

    Interestingly, I am a former college cheerleader who was hired fresh out of college at 22 to begin my career in pharmaceutical sales. Although this brief description of me may place me in that “generic” category of “using sex to sell” at a glance, I of course beg to differ.

    I can not speak for all pharmaceutical companies, I can only speak for my own, but I do feel, in some respects, that assertiveness, confidence, intelligence, ambition, creativity, and being attractive tend go very much hand in hand in this industry.

    The best way I can explain this would be often times when you have an individual who is intelligent AS WELL AS confident and extroverted (characteristics needed in this job), they value their apperance, and see the importance of staying in shape, appearing well groomed and attractive. In essence, being attractive often times goes hand in hand with having confidence, intelligence, ambition and being extorverted.

    Thus, the “sex appel” often times just tags along with these valued characteristics.

    As for myself, I was fortunately hired by my company based on my 3.9 GPA and my strong history of past internship experiences with strong reccomendations-in addition to proof of my ability to drive sales in a short amount of time.

    In my case, i have all the qualities listed, in which I also happen to be attrative.

    Comment by Anonymous | December 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

